Installing over exist webmin configuration

SYSTEM INFORMATION
OS type and version: Debian 11 REQUIRED
Webmin version: 1.9.8.1 REQUIRED
Virtualmin version: Not installed yet REQUIRED
Related products version: RECOMMENDED

Hello There,
I am new to Webmin and Virtualmin.
I rent some VPS which came with webmin 1.9.8.1 Installed but without virtualmin module.
I played with the webmin server and configured the hole system ( some users, bind server, proftpd and apache with some vhosts configuration)

While playing around with this great tool (Webmin) I happen to find on the net that there is an integrated module to setup emails and vhosts in much easier way with Virtualmin.
When I read some more on your website about how to install this module I understood that it has to be installed on a clean server.

My question is if its really the case ? or is it possible to add Virtualmin to Webmin even after some server configuration was made with Webmin ?

Thanks.

Don’t know for sure.
I did one on fresh clean webmin install alma , so nu other users or … then root

It is possible if you search, but also lot of warnings things could break or later …

I am only testing some so for me no problem at the moment.

Cant’s you go back to a clean fresh installl? Then having learned sofar the things you did, doing one more time could be helpfull for later.

If production then hmm

Take care of notes, noted and good backups.

You probably could, but there is no good reason to do so. It’s certainly much more work than just starting over with a fresh OS install.

Your choices in configuring BIND, Apache, Postfix, etc. almost certainly are different from the way Virtualmin would have done it…which means you’ll either be reading a ton of docs and forum posts to figure out how to make Virtualmin work your way or you’ll end up redoing it all anyway, because it’s more work to maintain a heavily customized Virtualmin installation than one that is mostly stock and as the installer sets it up.