Install and configure webmin/virtualmin before colocating

Hi guys, complete newbie at this level of server admin so please bear with me. I have always run a managed server but recently decided to colocate to try and cut costs and improve my service levels for the handful of customers I still have - hopefully enough to improve and grow my business.

So I have bought a decent server, have it setup currently in the office and have gone through the process of setting up the raid arrays, installing the OS (Ubuntu 12.04) and set about learning the webmin and virtualmin control panels as I have only been using Plesk for the past 8 years.

One thing has occured to me as a query though, should I be doing this setup from the office or does the server need to be in its datacenter, along with its permanent IP address in order to get everything working properly? Will it create any issues with me having set it up on my internal DHCP IP address and then moved at a later date?

So far it must be said that I feel a bit overwhelmed by the sheer amount of configurations needed to be setup, the main one causing me grief seems to be postfix and although I realistically do not need mail working at this stage I do not want to colocate the server and then run into problems so I am trying to get used to as much as possible before setting up the rackspace.

My Main error so far is: A problem was found with your Postfix virtual maps : No map sources were found in the Postfix configuration NOW FIXED, along with the other errors flagged after this. Searching this forum showed what needed to be input and where.

Is it wise to be doing this in the way I am already or should I have opted to colocate the server and then install, learn and configure everything in place - or am I just overwhelmed and overanalyzing/overthinking things?

Howdy,

It’s no problem to install Virtualmin and then colocate your server.