Help with setting up a File Server for afile backup service

Hello

I have been tasked to setup a file backup up service immediately.

(1) I have found the server and it is has been set up with CentOS 5 and Virtualmin nothing else.

(2) I have purchased a domain name and set it to point to the file server.

(3) I have purchased a remote backup software which sets up username and password and is fixed to the domain name. The username is the client’s email address.

I need help on how to set the server so each client will be directed to their folder or virtual folder.

I need help to automate the sign up of a new client.

I am a database programmer who has 7 years of PHP and MySQL so I do understand computer terms. However, I have not dealt with the server as a remote file backup system before now. I also know very little about CentOS 5 64, which my server is.

Can someone direct me to the documentation links to get me on the correct path.

I have found the http://www.virtualmin.com/documentation/developer and the command line API.

Thank you.

there is a backup feature in virtualmin - Backup and Restore and the client can choose to backup through ftp/ssh with scheduled backups.
On the fileserver you would need to create the users so they can make use of this.
It may be wise to install webmin gpl on the fileserver and register it under webmin - webmin - Webmin Servers Index.
Then under Webmin - Cluster - Cluster Users and Groups you should be able to sync users and groups

Under virtualmin - System settings - module config, actions upon server and user creation, there is a line: Command to run after making changes to a server
You can probably use that to create the user on the fileserver for new clients if installing webmin on the fileserver is no option.

Hello Ronald

First of all thank you for responding.