Help to set up a simple web server

Hello everyone, I’m new to Virtualmin GPL and I have some doubts that I would like to ask.

I would like to host multiple domains under the same user, by creating different “virtual servers” forces me to create a user at a time. I want is that when an user access by ftp to see all their domains inside.

I have seen that when creating the virtual server will generate a lot of folders in the user’s path, most I do not need, where I can configure it to display the minimum necessary? The ftp access I would like to go straight to / public_html

Also I’ve noticed that generates all mail services associated with the domain, I do not need, the I manage another site, there would be way to disable this option?

I just need the web server and mysql … as simple as possible.

Thanks, I hope your help.

Hi,

Simply setup one “top-level server”, then setup multiple “sub-servers”.

This in a default installation will create a directory tree like:

1stdomain.com => /home/username

2nddomain.com => /home/username/domains/2nddomain.com

3rddomain.com => /home/username/domains/3rddomain.com

Hope this helps!

-Peter

Hi, thanks first of all.

is it possible to create a ftp user that only can see and write at these directories:

/home/username/public_html
/home/username/domains/2nddomain.com/public_html
/home/username/domains/3rddomain.com/public_html

???

In this way the user would have only ftp access to the web server directory

Howdy,

You can have an FTP user that can only write to the public_html folder – but one FTP user can only be assigned to one public_html folder.

So in your example above, you can do that, but you would need 3 FTP users.

To do that, first go into Limits and Validation -> FTP Directory Restrictions, and make sure that the default restriction there is marked “Active”.