Email server and Wordpress server

Hi ALL,

I’m planning to separate email server from wordpress server. So, there will be

1. email server
  2. wordpress server
    and 3. nodejs server

I’m new to virtualmin, so, my current understanding is to install each virtualmin into each server and configure each separately. Is there a better strategy or setup?

That’s not how it works at all.

When you install Virtualmin it installs the Dovecot mail server. That runs in the background and handles all mail for all domains in much the same way that Apache or NGINX run all of your websites.

When you create a domain and install Wordpress on it, you then configure that domain to use email. That email with use the Dovecot mail server along with every other domain you create.

You don’t install an email server for every domain. It doesn’t work that way at all.

1 Like

I think he wants 3 servers for load balancing/ contingency. Or the query is rather if it is a good strategy.

@adamtang How many users will have email, wordpress account and how busy is existing service/server? Are you planning VPS or physical server. Each to their own and it depends on preference. If your service is super busy with heavy usage, yes - I would use multiple servers. If service is small and for simplicity - 1 server will be sufficient and a 2nd to store backups/contingency. For advance users DNS overlap etc so if anything happens to primary, you can resume service on 2nd server. I would try to make it as simple as possible.

You can install virtualmin everywhere and also make 1 to manage the others but it will require some maintenance. If you have some stats of current use, we might be able to provide better feedback.

1 Like

Thanks for sharing.