Command line-admin new to virtualmin

Hello,

My name is Jason and I am new to virtualmin. As I have a number of questions, If I need to break them up and repost them individually, please let me know.

I have been a command-line based linux sysadmin for 17 years, and am having some growing pains switching over to virtualmin: likely they are just me being resistant to change…

I have been working (fighting) with a suite called EHCP. It’s written in php but partly in Turkish. It appears that virtualmin does what I want: namely apache http and https, ftp for clients that need it, and outbound mail services with dkim/dmarc.

Presently I run several ubuntu 12.04LTS servers under vmware behind a pfsense firewall. We are planning to get out of the hardware business entirely and go to IAAS such as AWS, or Rackspace.

Some questions:

1. is the system | Features and Plugins menu the master feature enable/disable point?
  2. if so, when I disable dns, should I see all other dns occurences in virtualmin go gray or something?

DNS:
For DNS it appears out of the box virtualmin wants to configure the local instance of dns to be the canonical dns server for all of the domains I would configure.

1. I presently manage all of my name server records on external internet dns servers. Is it enough to turn off the Bind DNS feature to use existing dns servers? (it is clear to me I would need to make dns entries on my external servers for new domains as I add them…)
  2. Will playing with the dns entries in virtualmin clash with any webmin management of dns?

EMAIL:
5) When I configure procmail at the command prompt, I have options essentially asking how I want email handled (or not at all. Am I missing something?

User accounts:
6) Does creation of virtual server owners or ftp users generate UNIX accounts, or is it only an “account” within virtualmin? I ask because I would like to have other services (such as ssh and restricted ssh) be manageable at that user level.