ClearOS/ ProFTPd/ Virtualmin

Firstly it needs to be said, I am a noob. My first time using linux was about 48 hours ago when I installed ClearOS formerly Clark Connect on a Virtual Machine using VM Player on my spare Win 7 PC. I did so in the hopes of setting up a private web server where I could test out my websites and workout bugs before paying for a host.

So I installed ClearOS 5.2 sp1 which Webmin sees at CentOS 5.4
in Clear OS I enabled the webserver the, ftp server, and MySQL

I installed Webmin via comandline then installed Virtualmin all went well other than running in to a SUEXEC error about the hme directory, you know the one there are a half dozen topics about it. Well I couldn’t figure out what RPM I needed to download from the repo to fix it as non of them are labled Apache-anything (again I am new to this) So instead in virtualmin i went to customize virtualmin/defaults for domains and edited the folders to start in var/www/

I can go to the domain and see the Apache web server default page, I can even log in to the FTP with filezilla, however it doesn’t allow me to actually upload anything it reports back that I do not have permissions.

EDIT: I changed the virtualmin/defaults for domains form var/www/ to var/www/http/ and I CAN upload files now. However the files for example upon creating the virtual server it adds “website user” with a string of sub folders .mozilla, .cgi-bin, ftp, etc when i drop a php file in the public-HTML folder which in my experience has been the site ‘root’ said php file only shows at its code. What I mean is instead of a php file to show me phpinfo… it actually shows me the code:

<?php phpinfo(); ?>

I NEED HELP

Howdy,

Well, you may save yourself a bit of hassle if you were to use the Virtualmin installer – which installs and configures everything for you so that, as much as possible, things will work for you out of the box.