Cannot Login using Outlook Express

Hello… thanks in advance for any guidance you can provide.

I have a freshly installed CentOS 5.4 and installed VirtualMin from install.sh script. So far everything appears to work fine except for being able to check emails from Outlook Express. All the users on our LAN are Windows boxes and most use Outlook Express for email. All of this sits behind a DD-WRT router connected to the ISP’s Zhone ADSL+ modem.

The domain I set up has been running on a Windows 2003 server for a couple years now using XAMPP and with multiple domains. DNS is correctly configured and not an issue. Port blocking by the ISP is not an issue. The router is correctly configured. The mail server on the W2K3 box (and all other servers including virtual domains) works fine. But I am tired of paying big $$$ to MicroStuff not to mention reliability…

I have some previous Linux experience and have toyed with several distro’s including Fedora, Ubuntu and IredMail. So while not being a stranger to Linux, I am a bit stumped by this issue. I have followed the several threads in the forums and made some changes. I uncommented the “disable_plaintext_auth = no” in Dovecot.

I can send and receive emails to the internet with UserMin.

Note: In the output of error messages and logs below, I have changed the real domain name for privacy purposes.

Outlook Express returns this:

Authentication failed.

Configuration:
Account: 192.168.0.33
Server: 192.168.0.33
User name: dave@“domain_name”.com
Protocol: IMAP
Port: 143
Secure(SSL): 0
Code: 800cccd1

Maillog shows this:

Apr 3 22:47:31 “domain_name” dovecot: Dovecot v1.0.7 starting up
Apr 3 22:47:35 “domain_name” spamd[2788]: logger: removing stderr method
Apr 3 22:47:35 “domain_name” postfix/postfix-script: starting the Postfix mail system
Apr 3 22:47:35 “domain_name” postfix/master[2843]: daemon started – version 2.3.3, configuration /etc/postfix