Cannot change IP with my vritual host

Hi all,

I am a newbie here. I am using virutalmin 3.5.7.gpl. Just want to ask a simple question that I cannot figure out by myself…

The problem is: I have a virtual serve created using virtualmin and a private IP allocated to it during the creation. Now I want to change the private IP to another one which is available for me and not been used by my other virtual servers currenly. However, when I click "Server Configuration" -> "Change IP Address" and input my new IP address, virtualmin showed me an error which said "Failed to change IP address : The new address is already in use by the system".

I only have 2 virtual servers online, and I have 5 IP available. Through virutalmin “System Informaion” -> “IP Address Allocation”, I don’t see my new IP address so I am sure it is not used by my server.

Another interesting thing is, if I choose to create a new virtual server via virtualmin, then this new IP could be used as I choose "Virual with IP (Already Active)".

Any ideas about this issue would be very appreciated. Thanks in advance!

I am not sure exactly but if you did not create a virtual eth for that IP then it’s active on the default eth. I don’t know this for a fact though.

I think you need to create a virtual eth0:1 under eth0:0 and dedicate that new IP to it. I’ve set up 2 IP’s like this used for NS records.

webmin-networking-network configuration-network interfaces-click on eth0:0 - Virtual interfaces (Add virtual interface)-click on add virtual interface and fill in the info.

you should then be able to dedicate a domain to that eth0:1 with that IP.

the other thing might be to change the address in the virtualmin-addresses and networking-change IP address and change what you need to change.

Dear ronald,

Thanks for your reply!